Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today's society, technology plays a major part in every generation's life. It is said that children are most likely to play on their phones for most of the day. In my opinion, the idea mentioned is mainly caused by the benefit of technology that could easily provide any source of people's needs. However, this phenomenon could lead to some negative outcomes. Firstly, the main problem with the massive time usage of phones by children is that they are looking for the easiest way to fulfil their enjoyment. By operating the smartphones, they could easily access many sources of entertainment from the internet. Secondly, this case is also supported by the act of the parents who depended on their children with smart devices in order to accompany them. For instance, when their kids are starting to cry for no reason, many of the parents are directly started to give them a phone, so that it can reassure their children. That approach is continuously creating a usual habit towards the children into their later years. On the other hand, despite bringing various convenient impacts, I believe that based on the case above, this phenomenon contains negative possibilities that could happen. Many children could be easily addicted to the point it can harm their mental health. For example, a mental problem named nomophobia was caused by this exact issue, which numerous people are very anxious and sweaty when they are not on their phones. It is not necessary for children to sacrifice their early ages for advanced tools, instead, they should be looking for fun in their real-life surroundings. In conclusion, parents must step out of this problem and take their role by being present to their kids and introducing various real-life activities to entertain them.