Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though social networking sites have brought many benefits to humans, it is also undeniable that they create plenty of drawbacks for personal and the whole society. I mostly agree with the above statement since social-media sites make individuals addicted; yet social members remarkably benefit from this innovative sector. To begin with, social-media addiction has severe implications for the personal level since individuals spend an excessive amount of time just looking at these websites, and those habit distracts us from concentrating on our daily tasks. For instance, many users spend half of their day chatting with people on Messengers, watching Tik Tok videos for entertaining, or simply scrolling all the photos on Instagram. At first, these fascinating contents and videos make us feel relaxed and happy; however, if we build up this habit, we will slowly feel depressed because we gradually withdraw ourselves from real-world interactions and replace them with virtual platforms. On the other hand, using social tools online could help individuals to expand their network by connecting with a larger number of people. There is a wide range of online websites that provides humanity with platforms to express themselves by, for example, posting texts, photos, and videos. By sharing that kind of information, people could quickly attract viewers that have common interest and establish a relationship. In addition, social media platforms are extremely useful for being in contact with several friends simultaneously, especially in times of corona pandemic. Before the internet era, it was tremendously difficult for anyone to approach this numbers of people in real life and all above, to stay in contact with them. In conclusion, using social-media sites actively helps people creating more connections to the outer world; nevertheless, it causes an addition in numerous users and distracts them from the real world.