Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

There is a divided opinion on whether animals should be taken as a part of scientific experiments. It is said by many that essential scientific discoveries are made by using animals in experiments. However, others argue that experimentation on animals should be outlawed. In particular, research on animals for educational purposes is still allowed, yet it does need some limitations. Firstly, some animals such as chicks or white mice are still commonly used for school-level experiments in Biology subjects. Animals are used in order to let students directly observe the respiratory system of an animal by putting them to sleep with anaesthesia and performing a small surgery on its chest. In addition, some are assigned to foster baby animals. They can try giving them food and customise their environment to help those animals grow healthily. Students who successfully finish the tasks mentioned above will gain in-depth knowledge of how a creature lives their life. Although research conducted for educational purposes is still justified, it is unavoidable that in industrial-scale production, using animals for product research requires str ict limitations to reduce excessive suffering towards animals. Consequently, factories are required to find an alternative. For instance, replacing the animals with chemical engineering technology. With advanced technology, scientists can predict the result of a product without testing it directly on an animal. Furthermore, the prediction might be more accurate when combined with artificial intelligence systems. In conclusion, some experimentation on animals can be justified, for instance, when it is conducted by school students within a strict syllabus line. Nevertheless, experiments on animals for commercial product testing have to be done under some regulations. Hopefully, chemical engineering technology can be a possible practical solution to this problem.