More and more parents allow their children to play on computers or tablets (like iPads) because they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

With the rapid advances in technology, it has become a popular activity for the young generation to spend significant amounts of time using electronic devices, such as laptops and tablets. In my view, the advantages of allowing children to use them outweigh the drawbacks. Using the computers correctly does great help with young peoples studies. There is no doubt that younger children are likely to become addicted to electronic games and spend too much time sitting in front of the screen, which may lead to severe mental and eyesight problems. However, with the supervision of their parents, the time they cost and the context they get in touch with can be selective and limited. Parents can download applications relative to study and academic skills. For example, music or other educational tutoring and so on. That is to say, children with electronic devices equipped with educational software are capable of enrolling in courses all over the world, experiencing various types of lessons and broadening their scope of knowledge. What is more, acquiring excellent technology skills is the basic requirement for graduates when they enter society and seek a satisfactory job. Considering the kids’ outstanding learning ability, only when they start to use it at a young age can help have a better understanding and make full use of it. Moreover, mastering essential tools, such as text editor, database, programming language and so on, adds the possibility to stand out when individuals face fierce competition in the future. In conclusion, although it will cause some problems if children spend too much attention on PC or tablets, it is in control and can be saved easily by parents. Besides that, using them properly can bring many benefits to the youth in both study and social skills, so my view is that the advantages apparently overtake the disadvantages.