Online currencies have become more common in recent years. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There are various opinions on whether internet currencies have a positive effect or not in modern society. In this essay, I will illustrate the reason online money is popular recently and give my opinion on why this is a negative development. On the one hand, some people say that internet currencies are common and popular because it is free from time and place. First, It is faster than traditional money for trade because money can be transferred by Internet directly and in real-time. Take the supermarket purchase for example. People can transfer the expense right after buying goods, while people who are likely to pay in cash have to calculate money and check it correctly which takes a lot of time. Second, people can use online currencies in any place because those can be used even by smartphones in people's hands. For instance, if I have to transfer money to my wife on the bus, I am able to send it directly through my mobile phone, while people who are the only cash users have to visit their homes. On the other hand, I insist that it has many disadvantages because it is widely open to a number of frauds and it also damages even teenagers. First, people can easily lose their money because most of them are not guaranteed by authorities. For example, one Korean famous bit-coin operator escaped from countries recently since he cheated a lot of people and it made plenty of victims. Second, young boys can not control expenses because it is virtual money. For example, one high-school student can purchase some products with virtual money which can be transferred by a parent's credit card next month and it causes serious problems later. In conclusion, the occurrence of virtual money is negative because it can not protect against many expected frauds and damage young children as well. In this regard, I strongly believe that, although online currencies are common in modern society, they are not beneficial at all.