Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to improving road safety. It’s commonly suggested that strict punishments for driving offences are the most useful to reducing traffic accidents, others believe there are more effective measures. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, various solutions can be applied to raise the awareness of drivers. On the one hand, it is argued that it’s very helpful to punish strictly careless drivers to reduce accidents on the road. The main reason is that the drivers will remember better when they have to pay lots of money for their fauls false. For instance, last week I ran a red light because there were so many things in my mind that I did not pay attention to the traffic lights. I was fined 5,000,000 VND for this I think I will always focus when driving to avoid such a silly mistake. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that there should be better measures to improve road safety. Firstly, people often have this opinion because awareness and responsibility in ensuring traffic safety can be changed by educating pupils and students to better understand this issue in practice. A particularly good example here is my niece can tell me about the traffic safety rules even she is in elementary school now. A second point is to change larger signs on the main road so that road users can receive more accurate information. For example, roads in Ho Chi Minh City all have dangerous warning signs and accidents often occur on main roads or heavily travelled roads. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that heavy punishments for driving offences are vital to decrease traffic accidents meanwhile, others assume that other measures can be more effective in improving road safety. Personally, I tend to believe that the application of other measures will be more effective in deepening the awareness of drivers.