Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

Curriculum for schools has evolved to a certain extent that some students find it difficult to understand(for example maths or philosophy). Some people believe that it will be better if these subjects were made optional rather than compulsory. This essay will address both these statements and my opinion on the same. To start with, It is important for all students to get at least a chance to get the understanding of what a particular subject is about.One advantage of having the subjects optional is that the children will not feel the burden of that subject and hence can focus on the subjects that he enjoys learning. For example, a student that dosen't likes to do the math. However, due to no flexibility provided in curriculum, he still has to do the math. This might affect grades for other subjects or students might not be able to focus well on other subjects. On the other side, One of the major disadvantage for not making subject optional is that it might cause unnecessary stress to some of the children.As all children cannot handle the pressure that is caused by the subject that he/she dont doesn't want to learn. For example, consider a child that likes art but instead of art, he/she is forced to attend philosophy class. So in this case it may happen that he/she may start bunking other classes and roam outside of school. This will lead to some other scenario altogether. So in a nutshell, In my opinion, it is necessary for school to include a hybrid model where in students can get to decide their curriculum. This will not only escalate interest of students more towards their subject but also it will be beneficial for school to get their global rankings high.