Nowadays, people are able to use the internet to do an increasing number of tasks. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, the internet can be used for more and more tasks. I believe that this is a positive situation because people can spend more time at home, and it allows more small businesses to exist. It’s positive that more tasks can be completed online because people don’t need to leave their houses as often as they used to. With internet banking and online shopping, people can stay at home instead of driving their cars to these locations, resulting in less air pollution from unnecessary traffic. Banks in Ireland, for example, have been reducing the number of staff they employ in each branch because customers prefer to complete transactions online instead of driving to the premises. This reduction in carbon emissions is incredibly important, considering the fact that global warming is one of the most serious issues nowadays. Furthermore, many new small businesses are now operating because of the flexibility of the internet. As online shopping and online consultations become increasingly popular, it’s unnecessary for small businesses to purchase or rent a premises or pay expensive insurance fees. This means that more people can afford to set up businesses from their family homes. For instance, in America, many small shops use websites like eBay to sell their products online, and as a result, there are far more small businesses now than there was before e-commerce. In conclusion, I feel that the additional activities that can be done on the internet are an advantage because it means that people can spend more time at home, and it allows for the existence of more small businesses.