Online currencies have become more common in recent years. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that digital currencies have been trendy in the past few years because they are more convenient and reliable than physical ones. In my opinion, the profits outweigh the drawbacks due to their usefulness. Nowadays, using digital wallets is simple and widely accepted in many countries. Payments can be made instantly when shopping online or at supermarkets. In addition, an increasing number of online payment platforms can sometimes bring benefits such as cash-back bonuses. Although some platforms might be challenging for older people, most applications are user-friendly and easy to manage. In the UK, for instance, many elderly people are using online currencies with the help of their grandchildren. Consequently, a large number of digital currency companies target to promote their applications not only young consumers but also senior citizens. The primary reason why digital wallets have become popular is that it is more reliable than physical notes. People do not need to worry about being victims of crimes like theft or robberies as far as they are using digital wallets with substantial security numbers instead of physical money. Moreover, while traveling across the world, it does not need to exchange the currency used in the host country since most nations accept digital currencies. This is illustrated by the fact that in Thailand, the government encourages tourists to use cashless payments rather than cash in order to trace every transition to protect against possible money laundering. As a result, authorities can manage their financial and economic issues effectively. To conclude, digital currencies are more common these years because of being simple and reliable. Although they may have some drawbacks for particular people, it is pretty clear that their advantages outweigh the drawbacks.