Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. How far do you agree with this statement?

Internet usage has increased tremendously since the past decade. People of all ages utilize the internet service for multiple purposes including but not limited to education, social networking, online shopping, research, entertainment and so on. While internet is definitely a boon, there are some people who say that its usage for educational purposes must be restricted as students heavily rely on it and pay less attention to the one on one lectures. In my opinion, the usage of the internet outweighs the negative effects. Internet is a vast repository of unlimited information. It helps students to be updated on the latest technology and innovations. These days the technology is rapidly changing and it is not feasible to have everything updated on paper swiftly. Even if the students miss attending their classes, they will be able to speed up their learning with the help of the resources available on the internet in no time and be on par with other students. Internet is also affordable and it can be used on the go more feasibly than books. While the internet has many advantages, spending more time on it can cause damage to the health and the students might get distracted with social networking and entertainment websites which leads to a decrease in overall productivity. However, the uses of the internet are more than negative impacts. To conclude, internet usage should not be restricted for educational purposes as it provides more value to the students and can help them stay up to date with the latest material and thus become more knowledgable