Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think the opposite is happening. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is widely held that the advancement in technology is enlarging the gap between affluent individuals and the poor ones, whereas others disagree with this statement and believe that instead of increasing the gap, technology closer the difference between those two classes of people. This essay will scrutinize the explanation between the two contrasting aspects before the conclusion of why my position lies on the latter proposition is reached. On the one hand, although technology is developing rapidly and extensively in recent decades, it is still inaccessible to people in poverty. This is due to the fact that electronic devices which are unaffordable for the poor are needed in order to utilize the potential of the technology, and a set of knowledge is a vital requirement for using it. For instance, the poor will prioritise their fundamental needs for survival rather than technology which they are ignorant of. Consequently, poor individuals are left behind while the wealthy ones who are fully-equipped gain enormous benefits from the advances in technology which make them grow richer, increasing the gap between the poor and the rich more than usual. On the other hand, impoverished people can make use of technology to improve their standard of living. To explain, technological advancement offers the poor a host of opportunities to lift themselves up from poverty, as well as better well-being, by providing job opportunities, practical knowledge, and financial security. For example, in Thailand, a number of farmers are shifting their sale methods to online selling, such as Facebook pages or Tiktok lives, which attract a lot of attention and boost their sales figures unprecedentedly. As a result, the improvement of the socioeconomic status of poor people is narrowing the gap between people who are prosperous and those who are insufficient. In conclusion, even though the advances in technology are both curse and blessing, I am inclined to believe that the potential of closing the difference between social classes of people by granting more opportunities to people who lack them outweighs the drawback of increasing those gaps. If the technology is exploited appropriately, there is no doubt that we could unlock its full potential of it to enhance society.