Organized tours to remote areas and community are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

It is true that the number of tourists travelling to regional sites is growing currently. However, as any phenomena that occur in the world, this trend brings both positive and negative consequences to not only local inhabitants but also to their surrounding environment. On the positive side, the increase in tourism creates more employment opportunities for the local workforce. It triggers more investors to construct their hotels, retail branches or other tourist service providers in these destinations so that local residents do not have to migrate to the big cities to seek better jobs. These regional dwellers can also boost their household income by establishing their own shops or restaurants selling local specialities such as souvenirs or traditional cuisines. Therefore, the quality of their lives can be improved significantly. Furthermore, in order to attract more wildlife explorers, awareness of protecting the area’s biodiversity among the public and local authorities has to be boosted simultaneously. More regulations and laws related to preserving endangered species may be passed and enhanced sooner, thus, the local environment can be conserved more effectively. On the negative side, it is undeniable that tourism can disturb the normal peaceful life of regional residents and creatures. For example, some visitors lacking cultural knowledge relating to their destinations could unintentionally do some inappropriate behaviours which accidentally insult the local people, their customs or beliefs. Consequently, these local people can be put into unnecessary conflict with travellers making their relationship become tenser. In terms of the environment, more tourists also mean more trash. If tourists ignorantly dispose of their plastic garbage even small pieces of bags or containers directly into the seashore or water, the environment of this place will be polluted severely, because as we know, plastic is a non-recyclable material and can take almost centuries to be totally decomposed. In conclusion, encouraging more travellers to visit regional destinations can bring back both advantages and disadvantages to local society. It can influence various fields of these places ranging from their economy, their pace of lives as well as their natural habitat.