Freshwater has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of this increased demand, and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Despite the limited resources, demand for drinking water is on the rise around the world. If immediate and serious measures are not taken to tackle this scourge, the consequences would be unimaginable. However, in order to find the right remedies, firstly, the real problems must be unearthed. First of all, there are several reasons responsible for this growing requirement. The most important one is soaring population numbers. To elucidate, the number of lakes and ponds are on the decline for the last two decades whereas, the population around the globe has risen exponentially; resulting in an unprecedented need for drinking water. For example, most of the lakes in the urban areas in India are being transformed into high-rise buildings to accommodate the increasing number of people. Last, but far from least, establishing industries close to riverbanks is also one of the main culprits. Furthermore, these factories not only use a large amount of water with chemicals in the manufacturing processes but also discharges that waste into lakes which renders the water useless for human consumption. Secondly, I firmly believe that implementing small changes to an individual’s lifestyle will assist in reducing the complications. Some of the simple steps to save water are to take short showers, conduct regular checks around the house for leaks, and water the plants only when necessary. Finally, authorities should search for alternative ways to save water such as desalinating the water. To illustrate, countries with low freshwater reserves like Dubai started converting salt water into drinkable water using the desalinating process and were successful in meeting the demand. In conclusion, we are running out of aquatic supplies at an alarming rate. Therefore, executing some changes at an individual level and some policy refinements at the government level will help curb this issue. However, if these issues are left untreated, we might run the risk of exhausting all the reserves in the near future.