Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although a large number of people consider that digital reading supplies ought to be used for children to learn to read, other people believe that only printed materials should be preferred. Personally, I support the former view because online materials tend to contain many technological features which can considerably increase student engagement even though printed supplies are also known to enhance readers’ memory skills. Admittedly, some people believe that it is better to use printed materials to teach children to read due to the tactile experience which such materials provide. This kind of experience affects the formation of the connections among neurons to establish pathways for the different hierarchies of brain function. As a result, children’s brains can create a ‘mental map’ of the entire text, which fosters reading comprehension. It is often supposed that reading a book makes young learners recollect the layout of the printed text easier by relying on both visual and tactile memory. On the other hand, I side with those who believe that digital reading materials are a better fit for a child because they make reading lessons more effective by increasing student engagement with classroom materials. Not only do they provide digital illustrations and gripping visual content, but they also use an interactive approach which requires children label maps or click different pictures. Despite lacking the tactile experience, online digital materials provide an aspect of better engagement among students, which is known to be the key to a better result. This is why many nursery schools in Toronto, for example, have switched to online materials after noticing the improved class participation in the reading process. In conclusion, while some people tend to support using only published supplies to learn reading, others think that children stand a better chance to succeed using digital materials because they tend to be more engaged with the classroom in this manner. Therefore, I believe that online materials to learn to read should be preferred.