2.2 More and more students at university today are not choosing to study science. Why is this happening? What are the effects of this?

In the past, the majority of parents always encouraged their children to study in science fields. Nevertheless, the number of students in higher education selected for science programs these days continues to reduce. This essay will first look at the reasons why this happens, and then explore the potential effects that having fewer science students can cause. The primary reason that studying in branches of science becomes less and less common is the changing attitude towards education. In the twentieth century, those who studied in related science faculties in particular medicine, science and engineering were considered to be honourable people and usually offered high salaries and high job securities, while those who graduated from other fields were left behind. Fortunately, millennials see things differently. They give more valves to other majors and choose those for their choices. They learn that studying other courses, apart from science, can also provide them with high income and respect too. A declining number of science learners causes a great shift in job industries. Researchers, scientists and other relevant careers in the science field will be in high demand and eventually shortage which would lead to fewer technological developments. On the other hand, the number of those who graduated from other faculties, such as Arts, Business Administration,and Law, will rise and contribute to several developments in their countries. To sum up, educational perspective development plays an important role in this shift causing lowering numbers in science learners and employee shortage in specific fields. However, it is a blessing in disguise because further development in different fields will come up and will lead to sustainable development.