There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

It is true that a rich variety of musical styles can be found around the world. Music is a vital part of all human cultures for a range of reasons, and I would argue that traditional music is more important than modern, international music. On the one hand, euphony is something that accompanies all of us throughout our lives. First of all, as children, we have taught songs by our parents and teachers as a means of learning a language or simply as a form of enjoyment. For example, children delight in singing with others, and it would appear that the act of singing in a group, creates a connection between participants, regardless of their age. Moreover, later in life, people’s musical preferences develop, and we come to see our favourite songs as part of our life stories. In addition, music both expresses and arouses emotions in a way that words alone cannot. In short, it is difficult to imagine life without it. On the other hand, in my opinion, traditional music should be valued over the international euphony that has become so popular. The international pop tune is often catchy and fun, but it is essentially a commercial product that is marketed and sold by business people. For instance, traditional melody, by contrast, expresses the culture, customs and history of a country. Traditional styles, such as a way of dressing or celebrations, connect us to the past and form part of our cultural identity. It would be a real pity if pop music became so predominant that these national styles disappeared. In conclusion, music is a necessary part of human existence, and I believe that traditional music should be given more importance than international music.