Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some Schools teach literature, especially to secondary level students. Many believe that this is unnecessary and more time should be utilised in studying academic subjects. I agree with this statement; however, I am not in favour to ignore the importance of literature at all. Firstly, studying novels and poems in high schools helps to transfer histories, cultural rituals and norms to the future generation. Past history is saved in the form of literature, which reminds students of their ancestors’ lifestyle, sacrifice and patriotism for independence. This is the reason that people have an affection towards their nations and refrain them from absorbing a new culture too. Secondly, reading and writing skills improve with literature. Most students are enthusiastic about poems and they often express their positive feelings in the form of poetry. In other words, we can say that literature brings peace and Harmony in a society. Nonetheless, science subjects in today’s competitive era are vital to study. New technologies and discoveries require full dedication to practical subjects, like Information technology and physics. Its result is fruitful, regarding the country’s economic growth and a significant advancement in the health domain. For example, information technology fosters online business and is also a tool for products advertising on the international platform. Moreover, the digital imaging of organs to diagnose diseases and flying aircraft to shorten a distance, are the gifts of science. That’s why, instead of wasting time on literature, practical subjects should be prioritised. To summarise, I would recommend that practice subjects are crucial for the country’s prosperity; nevertheless, literature has its own importance and a weekly lecture for high school students is necessary.