Some people believe that university education is essential if people have a successful life, while others think that nowadays this is not true. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is considered vital for high school students to pass their exams and gain a place at a reputable university. If they do so, many people argue it is very likely that they will be successful throughout their lives. However, in my view, there is no direct correlation between a university education and an enjoyable and full life. It is clear that success in life can be defined in several ways. If success means enjoying life, then this does not require a graduate or postgraduate degree. However, if success is defined as getting a good job, and enjoying a prestigious career, a higher education is a vital tool for achieving this. For example, many jobs, such as in medical and legal practice, are closed to those who do not have graduate or postgraduate qualifications in that particular field. As a result, anybody who wants to get a job in one of the professions, or a management position in a prestigious company, must graduate from tertiary education. However, the world is full of examples of people who have been successful despite not going to university, or even completing secondary education in some cases. If people have a brilliant business idea, it is not necessary for them to complete a university course in order to set up an extremely successful company and make hundreds of millions of dollars. For example, neither Bill Gates nor Steve Jobs graduated from university, but were dramatically successful in their business careers after dropping out halfway through their courses. Consequently, it is by no means certain that somebody who does not flourish at university will not have a successful life. In today’s rapidly changing world, it is necessary to keep an open mind about what constitutes success. Although in general obtaining a good degree is essential for most people to enjoy a successful career, this is by no means true for everyone.