Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this fast-paced society, while the educational gap broadens many graduates’ appeal, others have an adverse opinion. From my perspective, taking a gap year before attending university has more drawbacks than benefits. On the one hand, this trend has become more and more popular because of the upsides it brings to people. To begin with, it is the time for high school graduates to enhance their academic studies. For example, IELTS, and TOEFL certificates are essential for individuals to get promoted in various fields, so this transitional phase is a valuable chance for them to focus on study in order to get high band scores. Another positive side of this tendency is in terms of emotional balance. In other words, after 12 years of studying stressfully, graduating seniors can step out of their comfort zones by travelling to other places to explore as well as develop a deeper understanding of themselves. It can be seen that many good points are given by the gap year. On the other hand, gap period takers may be in the face of several challenges. First, students may waste their precious time on aimless experiences. Instead of continuing higher study in universities or colleges, graduates opt for staying at home with their vague plans about the career path. The second highlight is that it is more complicated for individuals to come back after an academic hiatus because of missing opportunities so they feel less motivated. Last but not least, they may be impacted by financial constraints. In fact, no matter what purpose students decide to take a bridge year, they may have to deal with the hassle of the burden of money such as tuition, and travelling fees. In conclusion, although taking a time-out after graduating high school offers some advantages such as getting the necessary skills and balancing emotions, it presents more adverse influences including academic delay, motivation loss and financial strains. Thus, it is crucial for people to consider the nature of gap year and its potential consequences before engaging in this tendency.