An increasing number of people are choosing plastic surgery. Why do people choose to change the way they look? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Surgical ways of changing one’s appearance have become widespread in the modern world as there is an uprising number of individuals who want to have a better look. While such a surgery helps to solve born imperfections, I do believe that this trend has a negative impact on society in the sense that some people abuse plastic surgery and even might harm themselves. To begin with, the main reason for the growing popularity of plastic surgeries is a desire to look prettier and be appreciated by others. These days, a significant group/percentage/proportion of people are convincing themselves that surgery is the only option to look like their idols or be good-looking according to social standards of beauty. For example, in South Korea, a huge number of youth are going under plastic surgeries, namely an eyelid correction or rhinoplasty at an early age. They even work overtime to save enough money for such procedures just to look like their highly appreciated idols. Personally, I am of the opinion that the tendency of numerous beauty surgeries may be helpful with correction of physiological issues, however, individuals mostly overuse this method and even face more health problems in the future. What I mean is that plastic surgery does help people with born imperfections, such as a cleft lip or cleft palate, to improve their appearances. Nevertheless, people are mostly abusing plastic surgeries by doing liposuction, rhinoplasty or breast augmentation without even a consultation with their doctor. As a result, a plethora of stories about victims of plastic surgeries can be observed in a newsfeed. For instance, a legendary singer and musician Michael Jackson was one of these victims when he was suffering from negative consequences from multiple nose surgeries. To conclude, various plastic surgeries are becoming in a higher demand nowadays. People are likely to go under such operations to look and feel better in their appearances. Such changes may be the main reason for improving born imperfections, nonetheless, I may argue that today people mostly overuse these procedures, thereby facing severe health issues.