Some people feel that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Dealing with criminals is often one of the most controversial activities since the prosecutor have to judge the matter based on both the moral side and the harsh legal side. Different types of crimes have vastly different punishments that can also be based on the context of the crime. This has led some people pushing to set a unchanged punishment for a certain type of wrongdoings, while others argued that the circumstances of the crime matters. This essay will discuss both views, as well as giving its own opinion. On one hand, the background of how the crime happened is very important since it plays an integral role in deciding on if the criminal should be charged guilty or not. For example, if the incident happened while the alleged criminal’s mental health is at concerning levels, the judges should lower the punishments. The setting can also help judges on deciding whether the suspect is guilty or not. If a suspect was deemed to have executed the crime but most of the evidence found in the site doesn’t relate to the suspect, the judge should reconsider their decisions. All of this is to say the circumstances of a crime has played a huge role in helping judges determine their own decisions, and will continue to do so. On the other hand, having a fixed punishment for a type of crime eliminates the need for a lengthy court battle. If the suspect is deemed guilty, then no matter what the context could be, the judge would charge them the same as others that share the same wrongdoing. This could help the judges make more fair decisions and less dependent on their emotions. However, judging a criminal without knowing the circumstances can have severe consequences as the suspect may not have been pleaded guilty as they might have been provoked or at a unstable state of mental health. To summarize, judges should take circumstances into consideration to help make fairer and more accurate decisions.