Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Artificial intelligence is an issue that has been discussed by many people nowadays. Some people may think that advances in technology won't be beneficial for society and that computers can't substitute the human workforce. However, others believe that it will have a positive impact on everyone's life. I strongly agree with this last opinion and the reasons will be explained in this essay. On the one hand, the advances in technology can help and improve the outcome in many professions. For example, complex surgeries now can be performed by robots instead of human hands. This new feature brings more efficacy to the treatment and surgeries can be more precise with better results for the patients. In addition, with the introduction of robots performing surgeries, a surgeon can command the machine from abroad while the patient is in the operation room with robots. Consequently, the risk of infection during surgeries will decrease significantly besides the other benefits of the results. On the other hand, when machines start substituting man workforce, some people will probably lose their jobs. For instance, machines are now used for self-checkout at grocery stores eliminating the need for humans at the checkout. Then, some employees will end up being fired and the rates of unemployment will grow. Furthermore, with this trend, poverty will also increase in societies, and governments will have to invest in new strategies to contain this wave. In conclusion, in my opinion, artificial intelligence is being developed for our best intention. However, there are some deleterious consequences associated with it. So, society and governments should be aware of the risks implicated with it and try to build strategies to prevent future damage.