Death penalty is still practiced in jurisdiction system of many countries. Some people believe that this type of punishment should be abolished. However, others are of opposite opinion. Discuss both sides of this debate and give your own opinion.

An array of masses believe sentencing to the death needs to be stopped although it is in now practice in most countries while others say it needs to be continued. According to various religious backgrounds, people might argue it is not ethical to kill a person, even though he has committed a crime. However, I think, the death penalty is an appealing approach to keep law since it makes individuals scared and not commit crimes. Hence, both these arguments are discussed in this essay. On one hand, a part of society might say the death sentence is unethical in the sense of cultural and social values. Most of the countries with strong religious bases do not accept killing criminals because it is opposite to their teachings. Take Buddhism as an example, Lord Buddha has taught murder as an unreligious act even a person has made a breach, therefore, Sri Lanka as a Buddhist country, has abolished death penalty. As a result of theological interferences, the, sentence to death is unaccepted in many nations. On the other hand, I believe, being afraid of death penalty can minimize the number of offences that take place in a community. Every human being loves his own life, therefore, even a serial killer is fond of his own, hence, people get fearful of executing an unlawful deed. For instance, research has shown the number of crimes in countries where the death penalty is present is significantly lesser than in others. Thus, I think executing killing as a punishment for offensive acts can minimise law violations in a nation. In conclusion, some say the death penalty is against social values according to religious beliefs hence should be removed from judicial system, meanwhile others say it is an excellent advancement in law to control the number of violations in a country. I agree with the continuation of the death penalty as a punishment, thus it prevents culprits fro doing misdeeds.