Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local language. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Quite often, English takes precedence over local languages at schools. If this situation is not changed, local languages may die out. I think, nowadays, learning English is important, but at the same time, we should not forget about the importance of other languages. Also, I believe that governments are the first savours of local languages. Without a doubt, English is a worldwide language that is used in information technology, business domain, communication and other major areas. Moreover, a great amount of information is written and accessible in English. Knowing the language, one could get access to a vast amount of data. Also, one should know it in order to immigrate or study abroad. For instance, IELTS or TOEFL certificate is required for immigration to Canada. However, the local language is a part of national treasure and identity. Thus, its' state cannot be ignored and should be under control. In my opinion, all nations should do their best to support the life of their language because it is a part of their culture. In the past, many nations lost their identity and disappeared because they started speaking only in a foreign language. This potential threat could be prevented by effective policy from the governments. Firstly, any subject at school should be taught in the local language. Secondly, a person with knowledge of the local language should have higher priorities in the labour market. In conclusion, focusing on learning English at schools threatens the survival of local languages. I think that it is essential to know English, but local languages should be supported by the administration.