Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today. Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many parts of the world, talent competitions on TV have massively grown in popularity as we see the rapidly rising number of audience of such programs. While some critics might regard them as solely entertaining, I believe that these shows are an effective means of seeking for new talented artists. In my opinion, there are several reasons why such entertaining shows could be efficient methods in order to find out gifted people. Firstly, entering a talent contest is a perfect way of getting noticed in the industry or exposure to a wider audience. For instance, singers can use televised star sought after shows to earn more experience in the music industry as well as performing on stage. Without such experience, it would be extremely difficult for a singer to decide which songs work well for a fan and which don’t. Secondly, spectators who follow gift acts broadcasted on television could be absolutely entertained or even encouraged to chase their long-cherished dreams. Whereas watching those shows, people can imagine themselves on stage, striving to be successful, believing that it is possible to make their aspiration come into reality. Susan Boyle, for example, would never be able to become an official singer if she had not been on Britain's Got Talent. Of course, no one can deny the recreational aspect of those TV programs as the majority of acts are exceptionally remarkable and have never been performed in public before. Perhaps this could explain why such entertaining shows always get high viewing figures. However, for many unknown talents, these competitions are a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to show off their ability to the world. In conclusion, it seems to me that talent shows can bring various merits to those who might concern in terms of recreation and profession.