The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Nowadays, English becomes more and more prominent language in the world due to the development of tourism. While some people believe that this will lead to English becoming the only language in the world to be spoken globally, others think that this may simplify the international communication and lead to better understanding in general. In my opinion, the more you know the better, however, it is important to save and continue using all languages. To begin with, knowledge of English helps people from different countries to understand each other, thus, to be able to co-work, to help when it's needed, and simply to communicate. For example, once you are abroad and got into trouble there is a great chance that once you use English to ask for some sort of help, locals will understand you. This way, when a lot of human beings are speaking the same language, the communication becomes more easy and flexible in global terms. On the other hand, once people started to use English more than their native languages, obviously, they have started to speak their native less. For instance, a student from China moves to England to study at the university, so all his lessons are in English. Moreover, there are a lot of other students from different countries, so the only common language they use is English. It's not a surprise that after years of this scenario, when this student speaks his native language mostly only with his relatives, he starts to forget it. To summarize, the most important is to keep the balance. We need to keep learning new foreign languages, but still we must use and keep learing our native ones. As the language is constantly changing due to modern rules, you need to keep it getting better.