Some people think that all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In a day and age, the crime rate increases considerably compared to the last decade, so people have different views about all criminals should be sent to jail. While there are good arguments about other measures, I personally believe that it would be significantly better. There are two main reasons why it could be argued that all offenders could receive prison sentences. Firstly, imprisonment is able to exert a deterrent on potential lawbreakers, which results in a considerable drop in the crime rate in society. Vietnam, where the national authorities introduce that policy, the percentage of law violators who engage in criminal activities decreases remarkably, which can be taken as an object lesson. Besides, social safety would be improved after sending criminals to prison because people who approach serious crimes such as murder or robbery could break peaceful lives. Despite the above arguments, I share the concern with those who believe that other better alternatives are carried out to tackle this problem. On the one hand, perpetrators should be sent to rehabilitation programs in order to prevent them from re-offend. On the other hand, they also should be educated by vocational training, which creates a large window of opportunities for them to study practical skills to come back to society. Particularly, criminals could learn computer skills in reformed school that help them to seek jobs and provide sufficient income after prison release. In conclusion, although convincing arguments about all lawbreakers should be imprisoned, it seems to me that people who commit minor crimes such as shoplifting and pickpocketing should be sent to rehabilitation programs and vocational training so as to give them a second chance in life. Some people think that all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion