In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, children are free to do almost anything they want, while in others they have to follow very strict rules of behaviour. I think that the golden middle should be applied, allowing parents to use the best of two worlds. On the one hand, strict rules can put a lot of pressure on children limiting their development and leaving no space for creativity. Also, they might cause anxiety, depression and other mental disorders. This is why nurturing children in a rough and cold environment is dangerous as kids can become socially isolated. In addition, social skills that are important for any person may not be learnt because of the limitations imposed by the rules. For instance, a great number of children raised during World War 2 lived alone as they were in an environment where breaking a rule can cost a life. On the other hand, allowing kids to do whatever they want can also have negative outcomes. If a person is not taught about basic rules of behaviour at a young age, he or she is likely to ignore any rules in the future. Such behaviour may lead a vast number of children to the criminal path. For example, some social surveys revealed that a number of delinquents were raised in families where parents did not restrict their kids to do anything or did not tell them about important rules in a society. In conclusion, I am convinced that children should follow certain rules but the rules should not be very strict. Combining rules with some freedom in actions is likely to be more effective in the long term. I would recommend modern parents using the mentioned approach.