Environmental issues have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples?

According to some people, the lack of stringent punishments is the major factor of the increasing environmental problems. To a certain extent, I agree that governments should enforce harsh punishments and enact new regulations for crimes which recently emerging and out of the scope of current legal rules, however, I also believe that the social awareness of the nature around us, should be increased simultaneously. On the one hand, it is obvious that soft punishments was not able to deter people who committed environmental crimes. Due to that, some people firmly believe that, in order to prevent such acts authorities have to create adequate punishments, such as life imprisonment or home confinement. Because, today soil degradation, air pollution, sea contamination is largely due to the industrial buildings, factories and persons who breach the rules deliberately. For example, many factories are aware of the extreme damage of the nuclear wastes to the environment, but despite that they raise the production, which leads to an increase on nuclear wastes in spite of compressing determined quota. The main reason of the negligence is less amount of fines. Because, from the selling of products they can compensate their losses which was a result of indifference. On the other hand, adopting stringent punishments are not the only way to deal with the problem aforementioned above. From my point of view, comprehension of the vitality of nature should be spread and increased in society at the same time. It is obvious that nature plays a vital and important role in the life of human beings. Constant detrimental impacts on the environment might lead to the food chain disruption, lack of oxygen or fresh water and instilling the necessity of the environment into the people's mind would be one of the major solution of the crimes which concerning with nature. To sum up, there is no denying for the effectiveness of harsh punishments, but I strongly believe that there are several counteractions for preserving the nature from debilitating effect and raising social awareness of mother nature is one of them.