With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree?

Because obesity is becoming more and more distributed among people,there are strong suggestions to make physical education a necessary part of any degree course. I completely disagree with this approach and believe that making sport a compulsory subject is an erroneous decision. To begin with, having physical activity in an academic schedule will not make students change their feeding habits. In other words, scholars will keep following their detrimental diets meanwhile performing all required tasks with the minimum amount of efforts on the lesson. This only postpones the outcome as academics will jungle sport with eating bad food but does not tackle the problem. For example, a student does not feed properly but still participates well in physical education lessons allegedly balancing between the consumed amount of calory and the performed workout. However, after finishing the institution the student will be free from activities but retained his bad habits. That is why it is inefficient to cope with the given issue by the simple addition of extra discipline. Secondly, appending sport to the timetable of students might cause an unnecessary overload to the students who do not suffer from the overweight. That is, they already study maths, physics and specific languages, and putting physical activities on top of them entails inconvenience for academics. Moreover, it can be especially hindering for those who contend to get a high mark. A clear example is a programmer, who only focuses on writing codes to complete received tasks and it is hardly can be expected to require him to do some athletics. Therefore, appending physical education to the list of compulsory disciplines may have a backfire effect. To conclude, I am a strong opponent of making physical discipline the subject of paramount importance and consider that it does not only have any effect on people but also may be detrimental.