In many countries traditional foods are being replaced by international fast food. This is having a negative effect on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some parts of the world, fast food has become so ubiquitous that many people are no longer fond of conventional dishes, which causes adverse influences at family and societal levels. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this detrimental trend badly affects family bonds and the health of international communities. Firstly, the habit of eating fast foodstuff is harmful to family unity because people often devour quickly and normally have meals right at restaurants. On contrary, at a traditional meal, all family members gather and chat with each other, which strengthens family bonds. If consuming fast snacks becomes so popular, the connection between wives and husbands, fathers and children, and mothers and children will get blurred. For example, a swamped father who often grabs fast food and rarely eats at home will have fewer conversations with his beloved ones; as a consequence, gradually find it hard to share his emotions with them. Therefore, convenience food can somehow create a gap between family members. Secondly, it is believed that fast food is one of the main drivers of many diseases, namely diabetes, obesity and early puberty. These are serious ailments which have become a burden on the healthcare system worldwide. For instance, in this century, along with the fast growth of fast food, many girls have early puberty and have their first periods when they are only 5 years old or even at earlier ages. In general, KFC, Lotteria and such brands have brought about many social problems that are impossible to reverse. To conclude, considering the troubles in the above paragraphs, I suggest the authorities have practical methods to tackle the obstacles that the mentioned industry generates so as to ensure the happiness of many families and societies.