Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading stories from a book is one of the habitual activities in humans throughout history. Such activity has been stated that it is more useful for youngsters than watching TV or playing games on computers. In my point of view, I totally stay in agreement with the mentioned thought on account of some reasons. On the one hand, those advocating that sitting in front of a TV or playing computer games is better than reading books have their own reasons. One of the plausible explanations for this thought is that children could improve their skills and knowledge through these recreational activities. Clearly, videos and computer games contain a range of vivid effects that could catch youngsters’ interest and favor, resulting in devoting their time to watching or playing. However, these categories of entertainment could be mainly responsible for some consequences such as eye problems as well as addiction to games. Such disadvantages could make these activities become less preferable in comparison with reading for young children. On the other hand, reading various kinds of books could not only help the youth become well-rounded but also develop their imagination to create and visualize all events described by words in books. Thus, they could significantly enhance their imagination and creativeness. Meanwhile, these skills could not obtain through watching TV or playing games because of the graphic effects of these kinds of entertainment. In addition, by reading books, children can broaden their vocabulary level which could have a positive impact on enhancing their writing skills in the future. As a result, reading books is more essential for youngsters to produce imaginative responses and improve their verbal abilities compared to other activities. In conclusion, I truly believe that reading stories from a book plays a central role in youngsters’ development and this skill is more useful than other practices such as watching TV or playing games.