Is teaching people over 65 to use computers the best way to spend government money? To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, many people are of the opinion that training seniors on how to use the computer are one of the great ways the government can consider to allocate their public expenditure. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this way will benefit the elderly in many positive ways. By familiar themselves with modern technologies, the acquisition of computer knowledge makes seniors more confident in society. Old people can learn some basic computer skills such as word processing or browsing the internet. As a result, they will gain more confidence in the usage of technology and can operate these machines and software in an absence of other's assistance. Consequently, they make use of their skills to involve in several activities on the Internet such as social media or online forums. A survey conducted by the University of British Columbia found that seniors who participate in the online community feel less lonely compared to their peers. Moreover, electronic devices can shorten the distances between seniors and their descendants. As young generations spend most of their time on the social media using their smartphones, their grandparents can communicate with them more frequently if they know how to operate their computers because their vision is limited for the usage of handheld devices. It is a great way for the elder to keep in touch with their grandchildren, and even to establish a new friendship online which can lead them to a positive lifestyle and improve their mental health. In conclusion, it is undeniable that knowledge of computer usage benefits senior citizens in different ways, and the government should consider spending more budget to educate them.