Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to the new buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree? How important are old buildings to us?

The growing rate of urbanization promotes the replacement of old buildings with new ones. This is because as the rate of population is increasing so new accommodations are required. In my opinion, I strongly believe that no matter what the reason but ancient infrastructures should not be replaced with modern edifices as they are a part of our heritage. The essay below highlights the importance of primitive structures and why should they not be knocked down. Firstly, old buildings are a very important part of our heritage. They are the things created and left for us by our ancestors. They are a key to peak into the history and know more about our roots. To illustrate, the younger generation has no idea about how structures looked in ancient times because most of them are knocked down. Consequently, our ancestral inheritances are fading away and along with them, our cultural values are disappearing as well. Thus, it is important to preserve them. In addition, historic constructions represent something famous or important to people who live in the city or those who are visiting. Secondly, frameworks created in those days were made of higher quality materials especially times prior to World War II. Therefore, displacing them and reconstructing modern edifices with materials of that quality is a huge economic loss. Moreover, present-day architects can learn a lot from these frameworks. They also hold aesthetic importance. For example, these premises were created with marbles or old bricks. They may have detailing and features that cannot be found anymore like unusual glasswork or copper lining. All these boosts tourism and ultimately economical growth. To conclude, I completely disagree with replacing medieval premises with current ones as they are witnesses to the aesthetic and cultural history of a place. They help to give people a sense of place and connection to the past.