Every government has a duty to provide free health care for its people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of government providing free healthcare?

The provision of free healthcare services is one of the utmost prioritized government missions to satisfy the needs of people. Whilst government-supported medical services benefit people from all backgrounds, hospitals could get overwhelmed by the massive amount of people in need. To begin with, private health clinics make it harder for ordinary people to get a professional view of their health unless there is a huge bank account to sponsor. Constitutionally, some countries are obligated to ensure a free-of-charge healthcare system for every individual who lives under these laws. The biggest plus here is that the life expectancy of people will experience a dramatic increase owing to improved medical services and great accessibility by everyone. For instance, Japanese, Germans, and Canadians do not have to stress about their medical bills and the life expectancy is over the roof due to the free services guaranteed by the governments. On the flip side, making health care totally free may create additional unforeseen challenges in this context. As a salient drawback, there will be queues forming at the doorsteps of clinics, meanwhile, people might have to wait for weeks and even a couple of months to get proper treatment, diminishing the chance of getting an individual check-up by a doctor, resulting in dissatisfaction. Furthermore, such a huge demand will hinder healthcare workers from performing quality operations, prioritizing quantity over quality. To illustrate, in social countries especially Canada, people have to book an appointment a week weeks prior to the date of the medical examination. In conclusion, free health care is akin to a double-edged sword; while it can bring discomfort to people who are well-off, economically disadvantaged individuals will benefit the most.