IN SOME CULTURES, CHILDREN ARE OFTEN TOLD THEY CAN ACHIEVE ANYTHING IF THEY TRY HARD ENOUGH. WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF GIVING CHILDREN THIS MESSAGE?

Culture is a way of life of a given people or community, which can be in terms of their beliefs and traditions of doing things. Children who grew up in a culture where they are informed that all things are achievable if they work diligently, will develop strong-willed mindset and are often confident. A child whose culture encourages them to be Strong-willed, are more focused. They veer towards being self-motivated and navigate towards desired course with less supervision, see challenge as an adventure “take the bull by the horns". For instance in the igbo culture, some parents who don’t have money to send their kids to school, encourage them to learn trade or skill at an early stage to succeed. On the other hand, children who tend to be strong-willed exhibit character that are arrogant and dominating by feeling they have all it takes to make the own decision without weighing their options. Being confidence is act of self-reliance. A child's confidence is built over time by the kind of words and motivation that surrounds them. These can have both positively influence their confidence level. It's agreeable that guiding a child through rights from wrongs aid confidence in decision making; it encourages self-confident in a world that's challenging. In as much as confidence is a survival mechanism in today's world, however over-confident pose as a disadvantage because it makes one believe they know it all even when they don't which leads less effort on task and poor performance. In summary, cultures that promote strong-will and confident in children should ensure appropriate guidance is in place by custodians or parents to help children navigate towards achieving greater heights.