Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others, however, believe that government should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Maintaining a healthy lifestyle and diet is something that individuals need to be cautious about, although many argue that governments also have a duty to ensure the public is obliging certain health etiquettes. As far as I am concerned, regulations could only encourage people, while it is ultimately the responsibility of each person to look after their physical and mental well-being. On the one hand, governments could assist the public towards healthier nutrition through taxation on unhealthy foods, and subsidising fresh produce. For instance, McDonald's and other fast-food chains owe their popularity not only to how delicious their meals are but also their affordable pricing. Therefore, an increase in the price of such products could roll back its demand. However, this tactic has proved itself wrong in the case of tobacco and alcohol in many countries. Many people still smoke and drink regardless of the cost as they enjoy the addictive thrill once they are hooked consumption. On the other hand, a health-conscious mindset is something that needs to be acquired at an individual level in order to become a lifestyle model for society. To illustrate, in recent years many have decided to exercise at gymnasiums and consequently have become more aware and careful about their daily diets which obviously means spending more money for their health. Hence, it can be argued that once people are willing to transform their lifestyle, other factors such as budgeting become of minor importance. In conclusion, there are opposing views on the topic of spreading a healthy lifestyle and diet in a society. I believe that governments should only provide guidance for people as persuasion works best, whereas coercion has shown to be obsolete.