Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the growth of the number of sports facilities contribute to the development of public health while others believe that the development depends on other factors. In my opinion, I strongly support the latter view and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, there are several reasons why it is believed that increasing the number of sports facilities is the best choice for improving public well-being. One of the reasons is that more sports facilities established means that more sports for people to choose. The diversity in choices helps people not only easily choose suitable sports but also be more interested in those activities. An example for the suitability, if there were only soccer fields in an area and no fitness studio, swimming pool, etc, the women there would have fewer opportunities to take part in sports activities, because of female characteristics. And about the diversity, some fitness studios, which might even include weightlifting, yoga, aerobic, boxing, are always attractive to both women and men because they can change exercises to not get bored. Therefore, increasing the quantities of sports facilities is a good way of encouraging the public to improve their fitness. On the other hand, I argue that there are some other solutions which are more effective. Unhealthy lifestyles can ruin every workout effort even if the sports facilities are useful. For instance, people with bad habits such as smoking, addiction and eating junk foods can not avoid illness through exercise. Therefore, instead of the investment for the infrastructure, raising society’s awareness of healthy lifestyles is more necessary to be focused. The government should have campaigns on the harmful effects of fast food or posing smoking restrictions, especially in the public. Opening free courses on common medicines and benefits as well as their harm is also another solution to improve the health of the citizens. In conclusion, besides investing in athletic facilities, there are more solutions for the improvement of social health