Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes thought that high school students should be obliged to work for the benefit of the community, without being paid. They could do several types of activities, such as charitable ones, making the neighbourhood a better place or training kids to do sports. This essay will argue that this proposal should be put into practice because it would make towns more liveable and the students more responsible citizens. Compulsory services that benefit the community can improve the lives of everyone and transform cities into nicer places to live in. Moreover, having people do those types of activities, such as keeping public gardens clean and helping the older ones, can improve the lives of others. For example, in countries like Japan, where many school associations do beneficial work for the public, the streets are much cleaner and people enjoy a better environment. Such activities can also have the educational purpose of making the students more responsible. Moreover, working for a charity or teaching sports to children can help them to develop empathy and social skills, which are necessary to live in a society. It is not difficult to prove that people offering such services tend to be more compassionate from the acknowledgement of the gratification delivered from doing them. The idea of putting into high school programs the offering of community services for free is a very interesting one and it is argued if such a measure should really be taken. Finally, this essay has discussed why this proposal should be approved and that the two main reasons are the positive effects on the public and the pursuit of educative goals.