Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

Some decades ago our parents bought bread and cakes at the bakery, vegetables and fruits in the market, salt and sugar in the grocery, etc. These days more and more small shops and markets are demolished and in their places new big shopping centres are built. Although this tendency has some negative sides, I believe that this is a positive trend. One of the main benefits is that people do not need to waste much time for shopping but can buy necessary food, clothes, electronics and even materials for repairment or building in one place. This means that a lot of brands of clothes or shoes can be found on only some floors. For example, one of the biggest trade centres in Europe - Aviapark is situated in Moscow where around 300 well-known world brands are located in the area more than 200 thousand m2. Another positive development is the good infrastructure inside and around large shopping malls. Usually, these places are far from accommodations and people come there by car for which there are huge parking near and under malls. Most families, for instance, in Moscow come not only for shopping but to spend time in the cinema or food court or to bring their children to the entertainment centre. In conclusion, this is no doubt that nowadays very often small shops are replaced by more popular large shopping centres. While there are some negative issues of these changes, I accept that I believe that benefits do overweigh the drawbacks.