Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples

Domestic animals and humans have a long history, that’s why pets are very common these days. Many families adopt dogs and cats because they think it is beneficial for children while others argue that this decision could lead to harm and lower the kids’ well-being. In my opinion, the pros outweigh the cons of having pets. It is true that there are some risks in living with pets especially in a family with small children since humans and animals are completely different. Some owners might not know enough about the pets ’ behaviours which can lead to various negative effects. For example, being out of hand or even uncontrollable in some situations, being a host to parasites that also affect the family’s members without anyone noticing, and even harm from pets ’ toys. Moreover, parents need to take extra care and that can be time consuming and stressful for the family. Aside from all the risks, dogs and cats can be helpful for kids as well. Many households are familiar with pets for a long time, therefore, they can understand their pets and can raise children to understand them too. Children who grew up with animals are proved to be more merciful and gentle from many studies. Moreover, pets can save kids from many fatal situations. There are many videos on YouTube as evidence of this. For instance, a clip of a small dog chasing the bad people away from a child, and a clip of a cat closing the door to prevent a baby from crawling downstairs. In conclusion, although there can still be some harm from owning animals, the benefits of pets are more impacted. For the reasons discussed, I support pets in the family since they can have more advantages with the right care.