Deforestation provides a lot of needed material for furniture making and construction despite the drastic environmental impacts. Do you think the advantages of deforestation outweigh the disadvantages?

People have a myriad of views about whether deforestation brings more benefits than drawbacks. Although there are some advantages of the deforest events, I believe they are outweighed by the disadvantages. In this essay, I will probe into both sides and explain my own perspective. To begin with, of all the reasons why deforestation brings beneficial effects to the community, probably the most significant factor is that it provides a large amount of wood which is the raw material of furniture and buildings. As we all know, the phenomenon of deforesting implies that enormous trees are being chopped down and leading to loss of vegetation in the forest area. The chopped trees can then use in various ways as woods are the essential materials to make different daily necessities in life, ranging from cupboard and chair to table. Likewise, woods also act as the foundation of the establishment of a new building. When cutting more trees, more products made from wood can then be produced, and in turn beneficial to the public by improving their quality of life. Despite the increase in the availability of wood supply, under no circumstance should we overlook the fact that deforestation brings obvious drawbacks to the environment. The first idea popping into my mind is the accumulation of carbon dioxides in the atmosphere which causes serious global warming. As plants are responsible for photosynthesis by absorbing the carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and then releasing oxygen for living organisms. If there are more and more Greenlands being demolished, the rate of photosynthesis will then diminish, as a result, the carbon dioxide in the air will be accumulated. It is without a doubt that this intensifies the greenhouse effect and thus worsens the global warming situation. Another point to note is that global temperature will rise to the optimal level. It is true that global warming brings about the sea level rising as well as the glaciers melting. For example, the average temperature in Hong Kong has surged roughly 5 degrees in recent decades thanks to the severe global warming situation. Hence, deforestation creates irreversible impacts on the environment. In a nutshell, even though deforest activities may help the development of modern life, however, it creates detrimental and irreversible effects on the environment. After taking all aspects into account, I still concur that the downsides outcompete the upsides.