In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

How to educate our children has always been a concern of our society. It is not uncommon that in many cultures young people are told that they can make any kind of achievement as long as they strive hard. In this essay, I am going to review the advantages and disadvantages of spreading such an opinion to draw a conclusion. To begin with, by stressing that children can accomplish anything if they put effort into it, the importance of diligence is instilled into their minds. By doing so, they could learn about the most important quality of being industrious, as there is no denying that without hard work, one can achieve nothing. In addition, children are excited to explore the world mainly because they are driven by their interests. In this case, there is no need to dampen their passion by simply denying the feasibility. Take me as an example. In my childhood, I dreamed about being a dancer. Even though later I realized I could never become an excellent dancer given my physical condition and large figure, I harvested self-discipline. On the flip side, the view itself could be misleading as it overlooks factors other than hard work. Admittedly, children's imagination and creativity should be protected. However, if they are walking on the wrong track, it is also our duty to keep them informed of the harsh reality. Otherwise, their efforts can be wasted. For instance, if a child strong in math has an unrealistic goal of becoming an artist, it might be better if his parents could analyze the situation in a simple and honest manner. The kid might become a great scientist instead if he realizes he should make the best of his talent. To conclude, the view that one can fulfil any dream as long as he is industrious has both merits and demerits. From my perspective, while children should be encouraged to pursue their dreams and educated about the value of hard work, they should be guided to explore their strengths and weaknesses before starting their life-long journey.