Some people think that the government should decide which subjects should students study at the University while other believe that students should be allowed to apply for subjects they prefer. Discuss both views.

It continues to be controversial if the choice of the course students should study at the higher Institution be made by the government. However, I do not opine on this although there are valid points to both views, which I will discuss in this essay. Liberty should be given to learners to decide which career pathway to choose as they journey into the university because their interest equals success in the area chosen. It is said that individuals who succeed in one sector or the other have dreamt and grown likeness for the subject studied. For Instance, the Neurosurgeon, Ben Carson, developed an interest in being a doctor right from childhood; as a result, his being successful in the profession is made easy. Moreover, individuals' intellectual capacity is said to differ from one another, for instance, a child may be brilliant in doing calculations while another may be in sciences. Meanwhile, when a person is forced to study for a profession above his intelligence quotient; disaster may be inevitable. Therefore, everybody should be left to follow a pathway in relation to their interest and mental capability. On the other hand, it is the governing bodies that know the sector of employment that is lacking enough workforce or technical knowledge. So, they can decide which departments their younger citizens should major in depending on this knowledge. Additionally, most nations offer free education to their children. Since these nations invest in the educational sector out of the limited financial resources available, few pupils may be given courses that require more expenditure while others are made to study less expensive ones. For example, the cost of training medical doctors doubles that of teachers. Because of this, leaders may decide to train a few medical students while producing more people in the teaching sector. In conclusion, it appears that both sides of the argument have valid points. Regardless, I strongly support that a free hand should be given to the younger ones to decide what they will like to become in the future because of interest and intelligence differences.