Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to only be meant for adults. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes, and what solutions can be offered?

Being obese was once only a condition that adults suffered from, but it is becoming more common in youths. This essay will first discuss how fast food and a sedentary lifestyle are the primary causes of this growing problem and then outline how education and increased exercise are the most viable solutions. One cause of obesity in youngsters is the increasing popularity of fast-food restaurants. Fast food usually contains an exorbitant number of calories because it is very high in fat and sugar. In addition, young people are living a more sedentary lifestyle. Nowadays, more adolescents choose computer games or social media over physical activity, so they are unable to burn the extra calories they are eating. It can be commonly seen in many Western nations, for instance, that the number of youth who participate in after-school sports has dropped significantly over the last decade. The best solution to this problem of being overweight is to educate adolescents about the dangers of being severely overweight. If children are more aware of the types of diseases associated with chubbiness, they might think twice before asking their parents to take them to the local burger restaurant. Moreover, schools should introduce more exercise into their curriculums. If youngsters take part in sports, the physical activity will allow them to burn calories and avoid weight gain. Schools where youths are required to participate in at least one team sport, for example, typically have lower obesity rates. In conclusion, many children are struggling with their weight because of eating too much junk food combined with a sedentary lifestyle. However, if schools give adolescents enough information about the risks they are taking by doing this and require children to do more exercise, the problem can be alleviated.