Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

Most metropolitans in different countries worldwide are now hosts of people with different cultures and languages. Living together, they might come across a few unavoidable conflicts due to their differences, but these complications could be tackled by both dwellers and the government. I, therefore, attempt to outline some possible solutions to this problem. Firstly, through some investments in educating residents, states are capable of increasing their awareness about different types of traditions, cultures and languages. By promoting these through TV programmes during unsocial hours or holding ceremonies which express the traditions of different nations, people may come together and omit the differences. For example, introducing folks and traditional songs could appeal to people, as they are mostly passionate about music. Nevertheless, this might cost the government a fortune. Also, laws could be imposed in order to prevent misbehaving against racism. Black people have undergone many inhumane treatments during history, including war and slavery, only because of the colour of their skin. Unfortunately, this still remains among some individuals, mistreating blacks and humiliating them, which could be curbed and controlled, especially on the internet and social media, using punishments such as fines or even prison. However, the punishments will intensify the racist beliefs if they are not transparently introduced or if they are excessively severe. Furthermore, meaningful campaigns could be beneficial in increasing the sympathy among members of society. Words are highly impressive, and they can affect individuals’ beliefs, which are buried deep in their subconscious. Subsequently, slogans would have positive effects on the welfare of a community. For instance, many are impressed by the campaign's slogan: Black Lives Matter. Finally, declaring an official language and conducting courses throughout the city may prevent language barrier. Taking language courses could definitely improve non-native citizens' speaking skills, which is an indispensable part of communication. This tends to higher sociable community members, making a more prosperous city, although it would end up in the disappearance of some languages, which are the national and cultural identities of people. So, governments should give the right to each nation in order for them to be able to speak their own language in their community and even educate them to preserve it. In summary, ever-increasing megacities all around the world contain people from various cultures and languages, which can create tensions between different groups based on their beliefs or traditions. In spite of all the differences, steps taken by the governments and dwellers, such as promoting the features of cultures, introducing laws against racism, conducting campaigns, and specifying an official language, can alleviate this and address the problems.