Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?

It is commonly believed that older generations today find difficulty using the advanced technology that is bringing beneficial changes to the world. This essay will discuss how modern technology can benefit old people and the measures taken to encourage them to consume more electronic devices. To commence with, advanced technologies can bring tremendous convenience for the elderly if used correctly. This is because digital gadgets like smartphones and laptops provide a plethora of functions, such as watching TV, reading newspapers or online shopping. This has facilitated old people ’s lives as they can carry out their daily routine and seek entertainment or work without moving around, which makes them exhausted. Besides, through social media, elderly people can stay in touch with their family members or acquaintances living afar, so they will be less likely to feel lonely and have someone to call in an emergency. For example, a great number of old people using technology have reported feeling happy and loved even when separated from their family, thanks to the use of communication apps like Messenger or Snapchat. The frequency of using electronics in the old community can be increased by various approaches. However, the optimal way is not to scare them and patiently help them gradually get used to it, starting with the basics. For example, younger members of the family could teach them how to make a call or how to find a piece of information on the Internet. Once they have grown more confident in using the devices, they should be guided to operate functions with higher complexity levels, such as shopping online or chatting with friends on the internet. In conclusion, technology has a beneficial effect on the old as it reduces unnecessary movements, encourages one-place routines and enables them to contact their relatives. To increase the consumption of electronic devices by old people, young people should be involved and help them become familiar with it.