Why does advetisings become propular? Is this a positive or negative impact?

Nowadays, advertising has become increasingly popular in different markets. The firms are using various forms of adverts to popularize the novelty of their products to the public in order to make more profit. I suppose it is a negative development which may harm the welfare of the consumers. Emphasizing the creative designs of the products can help the firms attract more purchasers. These advertisements can clearly and exaggeratedly show the advantages of these new goods to the buyers who may highly appeal to the effect shown in the advert and be willing to pay a high price to buy this improved product. For example, some smartphone producers usually underline the speciality of their new design, such as the colour of the outer shell, in order to make some customers willing to pay a higher prices for the fascinating look. This means the producers could generate higher profits through advertisements. However, advertising may sometimes affects the interest of consumers. This happens when the improvements on the good are inconsequential which makes the customers find that the advantages stressed by the advertising are not significant to the function of the product. In this way, the consumers would lose their benefits after they had paid a higher price for the good and realized their choice is irrational. As a result, the advertising sometimes affect the customers to make rational decisions during shopping and lose their interest due to the information gap. In conclusion, businesses usually aim to charge a higher price for their products by emphasizing the commodities sold are new in some way. But this sometimes misleads the shoppers to do irrational purchasing and lose their benefits.