In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A transportation system is a mean by which material objects (animals, humans, and goods) are moved from one place to another. I am totally agreed that more finance should be consumed on railways as compared to other public transports. (39) In ancient times, people had used animals like horses and camels for travelling and even for transporting goods. They had neither reliable nor efficient means of transportation like railways and road transports until the invention of the wheel in the 19th century. (42) Presently, wide range of public transport including road vehicles, railways and aeroplanes is used in almost all the parts of the world. Among these, the railway is considered the most reliable source. This is because of the several facts like trains are always on time. They are free from traffic jams and carry a large number of people and goods. While, the money spent on improving existing public transports like vans and buses is although beneficial for both passengers and the environment. However, it creates some major problems like traffic jams, road accidents and environmental issues in all the big cities. (101) The recent addition of bullet trains and underground train facility in railways has made it the most popular mode of travelling in developing countries. It has now become the need of the hour to invest more in railways. If the popularity of railway keeps on increasing then railway will certainly become the fastest way of transportation in the near future. (60) Thus, I strongly believed that railway networks must be upgraded and new tracks should be added rather than investing again and again on existing public transports. (26)