Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, a number of people are in a tendency to use medicines without a proper diagnosis by a medical practitioner. In my opinion, I believe this is a negative development as it will lead to various kinds of negative impacts on a person's life. The following paragraphs of this essay will analyze two factors which will contribute to my opinion. To begin with, unprescribed medicine will worsen the condition of an illness or it will lead to another severe disease. Humans must not take medicines according to what they have heard or what they have read in an article or a website. Doctors know what is best for certain illnesses as they have been taught in their academics. Hence, it is always good to see a doctor before taking some chemicals into your body as they may react in your body in a different way. For example, according to a recent article published by the Sunday Times, the hospital of Anuradhapura has an increasing number of new cases caused by taking illegal drugs. Therefore, it is always good to take medical advice before prescribing your own medicine. In addition to the above, illegal drug use can bring death to a person. For instance, If we guide through the mainstream media during the last few years we can pop out a number of illustrations to case out unprescribed medicines that cause to death of certain people around the world. Moreover, some cases were curable if they have contacted the right personnel before taking those drugs. So, it is a best practice to channel a doctor before taking medication on your own. To conclude, I reiterate taking treatments on your own is a negative development as it will lead to severe illness and sometimes even to death. So, everyone should act in a responsible manner before receiving treatment based on word of mouth.